HTML Document National Biodiversity Committee

This page provides information on the National Biodiversity Committee, which is the Steering Committee for the implementation of CBD in Ghana.
Release date 23/05/2008
Contributor Eric Okoree

Ghana's National Steering Committee for the implementation of the CBD was formed in February 2000 by the erstwhile Ministry of Environment and Science, which used to be the Focal Point for the Convention. It was given the name, "National Biodiversity Committee (NBC)".

  • To advice the Ministry on Policies on conservation of biological diversity.
  • Preparation and follow-ups of SBSTTA and COP Meetings.
  • Preparation of National Reports.
  • Preparation of a National Biodiversity and Action Plan
  • Organization of celebration of International Day for Biological Diversity.
  • Lead public education on conservation of biological diversity

Prof. A. A. Oteng-Yeboah CSIR, Box 38 Achimota, Ghana Chairman
Prof. Eric Quaye Botany Department, University of Cape Coast, Ghana Member
Prof. John Blay Botany Department, University of Cape Coast, Ghana Member
Dr. William Oduro Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology, Kumasi Ghana Member
Dr. Yidana Adam University of Development Studies, Tamale Ghana Member
Dr Ofori-Danson University of Ghana, Legon Ghana Member
Dr Erasmus Owusu Ghana Wildlife Society, Accra Ghana Member
Dr. Betha Gana Ministry of Food and Agriculture, Accra Ghana Member
Mrs. Jehu-Appiah Ministry of Justice and Attorney General's Department, Accra Ghana Member
Mr Robert Tandor Ministry of Trade and Industry, Accra Ghana Member
Ms. Gytho Nuno Forestry Commission, Accra Ghana Member
Okyeame Ampadu-Agyei Conservation International, Accra Ghana Member
Mr. Kwasi Dickson
Green Earth Organization, Accra Ghana Member
Mr. Daniel Amlalo Environmental Protection Agency Box M326, Accra Ghana Member
Ms Azuma Dzifa Ghana News Agency Member
Mr. Eric A. Okoree Ministry of Environment and Science, Box M232, Accra Ghana Secretary / Coordinator